Gaspo’s Angachi Crowned KWFL February’s Best Player

86 100

By Fred Maingi

Gaspo Ladies FC defensive midfielder Sheril Angachi has every reason to smile after she was named by the Kenya Footballers Welfare Association (KEFWA) as the best Player of the Month for Ferbruary 2021.

The 20 years old Angachi was all smiles after she was presented the glittering trophy and a shopping voucher worth Ksh 10,000 from Kefwa President James Situma and Secretary General Jerry Santos among other officials.

She thanked her team mates for the support including the technical bench led by head coach Michael Malika whom she described as the driving force behind her achievement.

 ‘I feel very much delighted to receive this  trophy.It is  going to motivate  me  to work even hard.I thank my teammates and the technical bench  who were  my greatest source of inspiration. I could not have achieved this success without them.I feel humbled and inspired” she said after receiving the personalized trophy at the KCB Sports club.

 Angachi who has been with the team for the last four years thanked Kenya Football Welfare Association (Kefwa) for the monthly award which they started in December.

She was instrumental in the middle of the pack for Gaspo in February where she provided an assist in each of the three games besides providing cover for her defense. Gaspo beat Makolanders 4-0, Ulinzi 2-1, Mathare United Women 2-0 in February. It is her dazzling show in the matches that convinced her fellow players to vote her as the most outstanding player for February.

The Harambee Starlets player garnered 24 votes to beat Kayole Starlets’ Christine Ngoizi (18) to the award. Kibera Soccer Ladies’ Lucy Stella and Kayole Starlet defender Juliet Auma had 14 votes apiece to tie for third place.

She becomes the third player to be feted this season in Zone A after Ulinzi Starlets goal poacher Neddy Atieno (December) and Kibera Soccer Ladies attacking midfielder Cynthia Atieno (January).

 Kefwa  officials  were scheduled to travel to Mumias to award the other winner of the  FKF women premier League  Zone B. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)