Pavel Oimeke, George Koimburi take oath of office

Speaker Justin Muturi Tuesday witnessed the swearing-in of George Koimburi and Pavel Oimeke as Juja and Bonchari members of Parliament respectively.

Omeke Robert Pavel Obwoto of Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) was declared the winner in the just-concluded Bonchari Member of National Assembly By-election.

According to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) he garnered 8,049 votes against Jubilee’s Zebedeo Opore with 7,279 and UDA’s Teresa Oroo with 6,964.

Bonchari parliamentary seat left vacant following the death of the Oroo Oyiokamid February.

Meanwhile, Peoples Empowerment Party candidate Ndung’u George Koimburi won the Juja Member of Parliament seat after garnering 12,159 votes against his closest competitor Susan Njeri Waititu of Jubilee who managed 5,746.

Hon. George Koimburi takes oath of office as the Member of Parliament for Juja Constituency

Joseph Gichui, an Independent candidate got 1,356 votes in a by election that witnessed a poor voter turnout at 18.9 percent.

Out of 115,632 registered voters, only 21,862 people turned up to elect their new leader.

Juja seat fell vacant following the death of Francis Waititu who succumbed to brain Cancer in February this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)