Former Mayors, councilors endorse Raila’s Presidency

41 100

By Fred Maingi

Raila Odinga By Fred MaingiFormer  Mayors and councilors have urged Kenyans to maintain peace and harmony even after the General elections. 

Led by his worship professor Nathan Kahara, Joe Aketch, and  Habib Omar Kongo, the members pleaded with Kenyans to give Hon. Raila Amolo Odinga a chance to steer the country to another level. 

Over 25 retired Mayors and councilors who met at Nairobi’s Clarion hotel unanimously endorsed the former opposition leader by comparing him with Nelson Mandela or Martin Luther King. 

They defended Odinga from accusation that he was a non christian and does  not fit to lead the country. 

Kahara said Odinga has been preaching peace and  unity all along adding that he had a chance in 2002 to lead the country but instead opted to declare the late president Mwai Kibaki “Tosha”.    

“President Uhuru  Kenyatta and Hon. Raila Odinga support for devolution has helped to distribute Kenyas wealth to every corner of our country” observed Kahara. 

While  urging Kenyans  to receive the election results soberly, Prof. Kahara  lauded President  Uhuru Kenyatta for promoting peace in East Africa including DRC Congo and launching the Standard gauge Railways(SGR), upgrading roads all over Kenya including Mau Mau road that connects all counties in Mt. Kenya, and Nrb Expressway which has reduced traffic Jam.  

Joe Aketch urged Kenyans to turn up in large numbers during election day and vote for Hon. Raila Odinga. 

Similar sentiments were expressed by other members with Habib Kongo saying Odinga has sacrificed his life to liberate the country and freedom of speech. 

“If Odinga was a greedy man seeking power, he could g not have said Kibaki Tosha. He opted to step aside in honor of the late Kibaki” noted Kongo.  “These members you are seeing here, added Kahara, are patriotic. They have never been involved with any corruption or malpractice. Their aim and vision is to see Kenya remains peaceful under Hon Raila Odinga ” 

Other distinguished members who attended the meeting included  Thika Mayor Hon. John Waweru former mayor of Kapenguria H. W. Lonyalla,  Joseph Ogut from Kisumu, Cllr Stephen Kaberia(Meru), cllr Peter Oduor(Coast regional coordinator),and cllr. Hamson Odiyo from Homabay.  Others were Cllr Salat Garacha(Tana river), Benson Munga(West Pokot),Francis Ole Koriate(Narok coordinator ),  and Cllr Abubakar Arache from Tana River among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)