Rashid Bedzimba Re-Elected Kisauni Member of Parliament

18 100

Rashid Bedzimba has been reelected  as Kisauni Member of Parliament.

According to official results Mr Bedzimba gannered 34,747 votes to emmerge victorious in the Tuesday polls.

His closest rival Mbarak Hamid of UDA gannared 12,336 with Beatrice Gambo coming disatance third with 6,533 votes.

Kisauni is considered one of the biggest ODM strongholds in the county with 126,151 registered voters, according to the IEBC 2017 register.

The aspirant had recently expressed his reservation on the upcoming ODM party primaries.

Bedzimba thanked Kisauni voters entrusting him with the chance to represent them in parliament, saying: “I thank the almighty God for giving me another chance to represent my people. I also thank the electorates for showing faith and confidence in me.”

Eight people had expressed interest to lead Kisauni constituency, which has 135,276 registered voters.

In 2017, Bedzimba lost the seat to Ali Menza Mbogo of the Wiper party and challenged the win in court but his petition was dismissed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)