Raila Wins Majority MPs In Nairobi

3 min read

Raila Odinga-led Azimio La Umoja Coalition has won 12 of the 17 parliamentary seats in Nairobi county.

Although the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission is yet to make official declaration of the wins, most of the candidates’ rivals have already conceded.

Phelix Odiwuor aka Jalang’o (Lang’ata) of ODM is among those elected. 

The incumbent MP Nixon Korir accepted defeat on Wednesday, saying the tallying showed that Jalang’o had a lead.

Tim Wanyonyi of ODM got the Westlands seat, with his closest rival lawyer lawyer Nelson Havi congratulating him.

“We are the minority in the contest for Westlands. The majority chose Timothy Wanyonyi. They duly deserve him in their wisdom or lack of it. On our part, we are contented with the outcome. Congratulations to you my elder brother, Tim Wanyonyi. Serve well,” Havi tweeted.

In Embakasi East, Babu Owino of ODM was re-elected by 65,540 voters, flooring his UDA rival Francis Mureithi who got 34,450 votes.

The incumbent MP Embakasi West George Theuri also conceded, acknowledging that his Jubilee rival Mark Mwenje had floored him.

“As we begin a new chapter, allow me to wish my worthy competitor and the incoming MP Mark Mureithi Mwenje best of luck as he embarks on a new era as the MP-elect,” Theuri said. 

As per the provisional results, other Azimio-allied candidates who have won are Beatrice Elachi of Dagoretti North (ODM) and Amos Mwago of Starehe (Jubilee).

In Kamukunji, Hassan Abdi is taking the lead. He was vying on a Jubilee ticket. Mwalimu Peter Orero of Kibra has also clinched the seat on an ODM ticket. 

Other ODM candidates who have won the parliamentary race include George Aladwa (Makadara), Tom Kajwang’ (Ruaraka) and Antony Oluoch (Mathare).

In Embakasi South, Wiper’s Julius Mawathe has clinched the seat, again.

In Kasarani, Ronald Karauri, an independent candidate, emerged winner. 

The Embakasi Central Jubilee candidate Samuel Mwangi conceded to his UDA rival Benjamin Gathiru, who is also the incumbent MP.

At 2300hrs on Wednesday, Gathiru was leading with 7,000 votes against Mwangi’s 4,000 votes. 

The results were from 89 out of 215 polling stations that had submitted their results by the time of going to press. 

UDA also won three more seats, with James Gakuya flooring his rivals in  Embakasi North constituency and John Karie of Dagoretti South.

Mwafrika Augustine Kamande (UDA) of Roysambu defeated incumbent MP Isaac Waihenya of Jubilee.

Mwafrika garnered 45, 221 votes while Waihenya came in second with 40,140 votes.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours