Senators Elect Chairs And Vice-Chairs Of Committees

63 100

The process to elect the leadership of the 18 Committees of the Senate started on Monday, October 17.

The House had in its sitting of Thursday October 14 approved names of Senators to serve in the committees which play a key role in facilitating the legislative agenda of the House.

The Standing Orders provide that election for the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the committees must be conducted within seven days following the approval of the House.

In the election held on Monday, October 17, 2022, Kirinyaga Senator James Murango, was elected to Chair the Standing Committee on Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries with Senator Alexander Mundigi Munyi (Embu) as his deputy.

Senator Sheikh Mohamed Abass (Wajir) was elected to Chair the Standing Committee on Devolution and Intergovernmental Relations while Nominated Senator Rosalinda Tuya (Nominated) was picked as the Vice Chair.

Muranga Senator Joseph Nyutu, was elected to Chair the Standing Committee on Education and will be assisted by Nominated Senator Peris Tobiko as the Vice Chair.

Senator Wamatinga Wahome (Nyeri) will chair the Energy Committee and will be assisted by Veronicah Nduati (Nominated).

In the election conducted on Tuesday, former Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago was elected the Chair of the Standing Committee on Health. Hon Mandago, who is the Uasin Gishu Senator, will be assisted by Nominated senator Mariam Omar Sheikh.

Soon after his election, Hon Mandago thanked the lawmakers for voting for him and reminded them that all the 47 counties are facing enormous challenge related to provision of quality healthcare.

“As a committee we must take our mandate seriously so that the role of counties in provision of quality healthcare is well articulated,” he said.

Among the areas he promised to consider among others the challenges facing healthcare workers, the shortage of personnel, training of health workers, reforms in the National Insurance Health Fund and the anticipated roll out of the Universal Health Care (UHC).

“The committee must take a lead role in the restructuring of the NHIF. The fund must be responsive to the needs of the counties,” he said, borrowing from his experience during his 10-year stint as a Governor.

He noted that while the Fund has taken ages to reimburse funds to counties, the same has not been the case for Private health care providers, who quickly get their refunds on time.

“This committee must be part and parcel of the UHC roll out and influence how NHIF will operate,” added the Senator

It was also a good day for Senator Ali Roba, who also served as Mandera Governor between 2013 and 2022. He was elected the chairman of the Standing Finance and Budget Committee. He will be assisted Tabitha Mutinda (Nominated).

Sen. Roba promised to lobby for more funds to be allocated to counties and ensure that a revenue sharing formula that is adopted in future will carry the interest and diversity of all the 47 counties and its dynamics.

Senator Allan Chesang (Trans Nzoia) is the new Chairman of the Standing Committee on Information, Communication and Technology (ICT). He will be assisted by Hon Gloria Orwoba (Nominated)

Bomet Senator, Wakili Hillary Kiprotich Sigei and Nominated Senator Raphael Chimera were unanimously elected as Chairperson and Vice Chair of Justice Legal And Human Rights Committee.

All the chairpersons were elected unopposed. But

West Pokot Senator, Recha Julius Murgor was elected Chairman of Committee on Labour and Social Welfare when he got  5 out of 3 votes garnered  by Nominated Senator, Crystal Kagehi Asige.Nominater Senator,John Mungai Mbugua was elected Vice Chair. He was elected unopposed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)