Hon Karani Elected as Chairperson of Members Service And Facilities Committee

2 min read

By John Kariuki

The National Assembly Committee On Members Service and facilities will be headed by Laikipia West MP, Hon. Karani Stephen Wachira who was today elected unopposed as its Chairperson.

Msambweni MP Hon. Salim Feisal Bader  was also elected unopposed as the Vice Chairperson during the inuagural meeting held today.

Hon. Karani and Hon. Salim expressed their gratitude to Members for electing them to lead the Committee and assured them of good leadership and hard work.

Hon. Feisal said, ” I will collaborate with all members to make sure there is smooth running of the committee”.

At the same time The Departmental Committee on Delegated Legislation has today elected unopposed Hon. Samwel Kiprono Chepkonga, MP, Ainabkoi as it’s Chairperson.

Members also elected unopposed Hon. Robert Gichimo Githinji, MP, Gichugu as it’s Vice-Chairperson.

Speaking after the elections, Hon. Chepkonga who previously served in the 11th Parliament called on the Members to ensure that they will discharge their duties in a way that will be beneficial to the citizens of this country.

“I sincerely thank you for your confidence to elect me as your Chairperson. I am happy to be associated with the committee. We will discharge our duties in accordance with the law.” He said.

The Vice Chairperson congratulated all the Members of the Committee for having been elected to serve in the 13th Parliament.

“I also congratulate you Hon. Chepkonga and I could watch you in the 11th Parliament as you served in the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee and you delivered well. I am confident that you will continue to guide and steer the committee to higher grounds. We have alot to do in our committee and we will work as a team and deliver as a team.” He said.

This Committee is established pursuant to the provisions of Standing orders No.210.
Whenever a statutory instrument is submitted to the Assembly pursuant to the Constitution, any law or Standing Orders, the statutory instrument shall, unless a contrary intention appears in the relevant legislation, be laid before the Assembly by the Chair of the relevant Departmental Committee, or any other member and shall thereafter stand reffered to the Committee on Delegated Legislation.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours