Former MP Benjamin Tayari Appointed to Replace Kibwana as KPA Chair

2 min read

Tobby Otum

Former Kinango MP Benjamin Tayari is the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA).

Tayari who lost to Gonzi Rai in the 2022 general elections was appointed through a special gazette notice dated 13th January 2023 signed by Transport Cabinet Secretary Kipchumba Murkomen.

He joins President William Rutos long list of political appointees who failed in the August elections.

Tayari takes over from General (Rtd) Joseph Kibwana. 

Kibwana was reappointed to the position in July last year after his term for the same position expired in June 2021.

“I am happy that my opponent has been appointed to the position,” said Kinango MP Gozi Rai.

Tayari’s first task will be to oversee the appointment of the new Managing Director.

A total of 61 applicants have so far applied for the position. 

According to a source, who spoke to the Star, the current general manager in charge of corporate services Edward Kamau is among the applicants.

KPA advertised for the MD position in the local dailies last month, the term of the current acting MD John Mwangemi is set to come to an end on March this year.

Murkomen is expected in Mombasa this week to install a new board.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours