Nairobi Governor Nominates Representative for UNHCR Refugee Marshall Plan Technical Committee

127 100

By Majangah

Nairobi Governor Sakaja Johnson has nominated Chief Officer Social Services Sub Sector Mr George Mutiso to sit in the Refugee Marshall Plan Technical Committee. Mr. Mutiso will represent the Governor in the high-level stakeholders meeting on the Refugee Marshal Plan, which aims to adopt the Declaration on Durable Solutions for Refugees and Reintegration of Returnees.

In March 2017, a special summit of the leaders of the Inter-Governmental Agency on Development (IGAD) member states adopted the Declaration on Durable Solutions for Somali Refugees and Reintegration of Returnees in Somalia and its Action Plan, Nairobi formed the lynchpin of a new framework of cooperation and solidarity towards refugees.

IGAD’s ‘Marshall Plan’ is embedded in five pillars. First is the imperative to create conditions for safe and dignified return of the displaced to the countries or communities of origin. This includes prioritising the root causes of forced displacement, as well as the recovery and reconstruction, mainly of Somalia and South Sudan.

Nairobi City County has a population of one hundred thousand (100,000) urban refugees from across Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post <strong>East Africa Community (EAC) Secretariate benchmark at Tatu City mixed-use SEZ</strong>
Next post <strong>Phil Nelson named Executive Vice President of CNN International Commercial</strong>