ODM overhauls key organs ahead of grassroots elections


ODM National Election Board Chairperson Judith Pareno (center) addressing the media at Orange house on March 30, 2017 Where they announced commencement of primaries which will be held on 7th April and 23 April . She is flanked by ODM Elections board Secretary General Robert Arunga (right) and Executive Director Oduor Ongwen (left) Photo | Jeff Angote | Nairobi

By Abednego Mwikya

The Orange Democratic Movement has made changes in two key committees in a move aimed at revamping the party ahead of 2022 election campaigns.

The party’s National Election’s Board is now headed by Prof Catherine Mumma while the disciplinary committee is now under the leadership of Prof Ben Sihanya.

“The new NEB must quickly settle and begin preparations for the Party Grassroots Elections.
The new Disciplinary Committee likewise is expected to settle down quickly and dispense with urgent pending disciplinary cases,” said Mr Sifuna in a statement seen by The Times.

Further, Sifuna said the reorganization resulted from exhaustive consultation between the party leadership and its membership.

“We now wish to urge our members across the country to support the new teams as they seek to better our party. We also thank all those who served previously on these committees for their dedication and service,” he added.

Others appointed to the National Elections Board are Mr. Abdulahi Diriye, Mr. Richard Tairo, Ms Syntei Nchoe and Ms Emily Awita.

Those joining the disciplinary committee together with Mr Sihanya are Ramadhan Abubakar, Mumbi Ngaru, Seth Kakusye and Dr Florence Omosa.

The committee is expected to start operations by handling cases involving MCAs from Nairobi, Bungoma and Nyamira counties.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *