Newly elected Paralympic Chairman vows to Revive the ailing Sport


By Fred Maingi

Newly elected Kenya National Paralympic committee(KNPC) chairman Robert Milare has vowed to revive the ailing sport by involving all stakeholders in the game.

The former Nairobi nominated MCA and Sports Administrator who beat his opponent Kennedy Ndungi by 8-6 votes to clinch the plum seat said he will put new structures in all counties to streamline the sport.

Consequently, the new Boss observed that he will go to the grassroot and nurture new talents to beef up the current National teams.

The new Kenya Paralympic (KNPC) chairman Ronald Milare(left) in an interview at the Nyayo Stadium after being elected to head the Association for a term of four years.

The youthful Milere further assured KNPC stakeholders that he will bring on board other federations like wheelchair Association, Taekwondo, Cycling, Badminton for a stronger partnership.

“I wish to thank all stakeholders for giving me a new term of four years to serve you.i promise to serve all equally through teamwork and consultation” he noted .

The new Chairman win had earlier received a major boost following the withdrawal of the former president/ Chairlady Agnes Oluoch who was forced to step aside by the Sport Tribunal.

Registrar of Sports Madam Rose Wasike (holding a water bottle) shares a light moment with a sports official during the peaceful KNPC elections held at the Nyayo National stadium in Nairobi.

The peaceful exercise held at the Nyayo Stadium Kenya National Nationsl Sports council(KNSC) Boardroom was supervised by the Sport registrar Madam Rose Wasike, KNSC Administrator James Akama and a representative from the Director of Sports Catherine Wambugu among other senior Sports officials.

In her speech, Wasike thanked the body for conducting fair and peaceful elections and urged them to start a new peaceful era.

The new office includes; Chairman – Ronald Milare, Vice Chairman- Bhaveet Chundasam, Sec General- Stanley Mutuma, Treasurer- Lena Nyaboke, and Women Rep Anna N’gendo.

Six committee members elected were Dennis Muga, Cyrus Opanga, Jane Ndenga, Henry Otieno, Sospeter Maina and Doris Nyan’gor.

Justus Katumo and James Mureithi who were in the previous office did not make it.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *