Gor Mahia Win 20th Kenya Premier League Title


Gor Mahia broke the jinx to win this year’s Kenya Premier League by beating Nairobi City Stars 4-1 during a match played at Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani stadium in Nairobi county.

K’ogalo reclaimed the title from former champs Tusker after the much needed win to be crowned the 20th winners of the title.

During breather time the score stood at 0-0 before the city boys sent the Green Army supporters into a panic by scoring the opening goal.

READ ALSO: Gor Mahia Sign Insurance Pact with AAR

The game came alive after the champions levelled the score and took command of the field and dictated the match to the final whistle.

The Gor Mahia came from behind to beat the stubborn City Stars during the well attended match and took over to the final whistle to be crowned winners.

There was only one point that separated the new champs and the defending champs who had 67 points against their 66 points.

After the final whistle the frenzied K’ogalo spectators broke into celebrations and entered the pitch despite there being no colorful awarding ceremony.      

Elsewhere, Tusker’s emphatic 4-0 win over Vihiga Bullets at Mumias Sports Complex was not enough to fire them to the title as they wrapped up the season second, just a point behind K’Ogalo.

The Brewers took an early command in the one-sided encounter when Ugandan forward Deogratious Ojok fired them ahead barely four minutes into the game.

Shami Mwinyi then pounced on a loose ball on the edge to double the advantage on the stroke of halftime.

A quickfire brace from Stewart Omondi in the 84th and 86th minutes put the outcome beyond doubt.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *